There will be times when you want more privacy, despite the fact that it is sometimes more convenient to let everyone know where you are. You can prevent other users from tracking your whereabouts on Snapchat by activating the Ghost Mode setting in the Location Settings menu of the Snapchat app. This will prevent your location from being displayed on the Snapchat Map, keeping your friends and followers from being able to see where you are.
In addition, if you head to the settings menu on your iPhone or Android device, you have the ability to completely override these app preferences. You can deactivate Snapchat’s location services in this section, which will take precedence over any other settings in the app. Here’s how to disable Snapchat’s location monitoring on your iPhone or Android device. The instructions apply to both platforms.
Read Also; How to Recover Deleted Memories on Snapchat
How to Turn Off Location Tracking on Your Snapchat
1. On your iPhone or Android smartphone, open the Snapchat app, and touch on the profile symbol that is located in the upper left corner of the screen.
2. Select the gear icon located in the upper-right corner of the screen to access the settings.
3. Go to the bottom of the page where it says “Who Can…” and tap the option that says “See My Location.” Your friends are the only people who will be able to view your location by default.
4. On the page where you configure your location settings, you’ll see options to modify the default setting for “My Friends” to “My Friends, Except…” or “Only These Friends…” You can select names from the people in your Snapchat contact list by tapping one of those selections.
5. To turn on Ghost Mode and hide your position from other users, tap the switch that is located at the very top of the screen. You will see a pop-up that gives you the option to pick a length of time. You have the option to turn this on for a limited period of time; but, if you would like it to remain on permanently, select “Until Turned Off.”
6. Navigate back to the main page of Snapchat, where your camera will be active and you will be able to take photos and videos. Drag your finger down to open up the map.
7. If you are using Snapchat in its private mode, a ghost with a blue and white Snapchat logo will appear above your location. This will let you know that the location tracking has been effectively disabled on your device. You are now able to travel directly back to the location settings page by tapping the gear symbol that is located in the upper-right corner. (Snapchat might even alert you to this with a pop-up that says, “Share your location with some of your pals!”)
If I block someone, will they still be able to see where I am?
When you block another user, that user will no longer be able to view your location. Despite this, some users have reported that even after removing someone from their list of individuals who can view their location, the person remains on the list. It is recommended that you take the extra step of removing the person in question from the ‘Friends Except…’ list in Snap Maps if you do not want them to check your whereabouts.
Is Snap Maps safe?
The security of Snap Maps is entirely dependent on the user who is controlling the settings. If you share your location with absolutely anybody and everyone who is interested in viewing it, you put yourself in an extremely dangerous situation, according to this statement. It’s understandable that you want to brag about your Bitmoji and all of the amazing features that come with it, but unfortunately, doing so puts you in a position that is extremely hazardous. You should be safe if you make use of the Ghost Mode function or even if you want to just share it with a small group of people you can rely on.
How precise is the Snapchat Snap Maps feature?
There is a lot of discussion going on about how accurate Snap Maps are, and there is a solid reason for this. Since there are so many variables involved, the precise location can be accurate one minute and then be off by two to three miles the next. It is recommended that you utilise Life360 or Find My Friends rather than Snap Maps if you are trying to follow the position of another person, such as keeping an eye on a youngster or friend who is going on a blind date. If someone claims to have been in one place but gives the impression of being in another, you should not put too much stock in what they say. The accuracy of Snap Maps is not guaranteed to be one hundred percent of the time, and the programme was not developed to perform location monitoring.